a retrospective in sound and vision
2 dvd / 2 cd package released 11th September 2006

Mute are pleased to announce the release of the long-awaited Fad Gadget by Frank Tovey project on 11th September 2006.

The 2 DVD and 2 CD package features an exclusive new documentary covering Tovey's life and career up to his untimely death in 2002. It will also include rare and unreleased tracks and live footage of legendary performances, as well as classic songs recorded both under his own name and his alter ego, Fad Gadget. Put together by Frank's family in conjunction with Mute, utilising the Mute and family archives, this collection features the very first Fad Gadget demos and footage of the rebirthed Fad Gadget supporting Depeche Mode in 2001.

Fad Gadget, who alongside Human League, Cabaret Voltaire and The Normal, was at the forefront of the Electronic Movement of the late 70s/early 80s. The first signing to the Mute label, Fad Gadget released his debut single, the ground breaking, 'Back To Nature' in October 1979. Recorded using a drum machine and synthesiser a string of classic singles followed including 'Ricky's Hand', 'Fireside Favourite' and 'Collapsing New People'. A truly unique artist his live shows were legendary and quickly established Fad Gadget as one of the most exciting acts of the time.

After four critically acclaimed albums as Fad Gadget, Tovey dropped the moniker and recorded a further five albums for Mute under his own name and with the Pyros throughout the '80s and early '90s. He continued to experiment with many different styles, mixing electronics with Rock, Punk, Folk and Dance Music.

Full commercial content list:


Frank Tovey by Fad Gadget Documentary

TV performances
01. Ricky's Hand, a short film by Alex Proyas
02. Life On The Line (Karrussel TV performance)
03. Collapsing New People (Formula Eins TV performance)
04. Luxury (Karrussel TV performance)


05. Luddite Joe
06. Bridge Street Shuffle
07. Sam Hall
08. The Liberty Tree
09. All That Is Mine

Grand Union, a short film
hidden easter egg


Live performances

New York City, Mud Club
01. Coitus Interruptus

Manchester, Hacienda - 28th February 1984
01. State Of The Nation
02. Coitus Interruptus
03. King Of The Flies
04. I Discover Love
05. Ideal World
06. Collapsing New People
07. One Man's Meat
08. The Ring
09. Jump
10. Ad Nauseam
11. Lemmings On Lover's Rock
12. Love Parasite
13. For Whom The Bells Toll
14. Ricky's Hand
15. Back To Nature

Brixton, The Ace, January 1983 - "Whatever You Want"
01. Intro
02. Coitus Interruptus
03. Sheep Look Up
04. For Whom The Bells Toll

Amsterdam, Hotel Suburbia, 29th January 1983
01. Life On The Line
02. For Whom The Bells Toll / Interview
03. Ladyshave
04. Back To Nature

Exciter Tour 2001
01. State Of The Nation
02. Ricky's Hand
03. Love Parasite

London, The Garage, 18th January 2002
01. Worried Man
02. Ricky's Hand
03. Collapsing New People
04. Chasing The Blues Away
05. Luxury
06. The Box
07. Ladyshave
08. Love Parasite
09. Fireside Favourite
10. Coitus Interruptus
11. Ad Nauseam
12. Back To Nature


01. Swallow It
02. Jump
03. Ideal World
04. Luddite Joe
05. Under the Flag II
06. Bridge St Shuffle
07. Sam Hall
08. The Liberty Tree (Single Version)
09. Cities Of The Plain
10. Chasing The Blues Away
11. All That Is Mine

12. Easy Listening - Ex 2 (Frank Tovey and Boyd Rice)
13. Immobilise (Mkultra)

Unreleased tracks
14. A Place With The Pigs (theatre music)
15. Sleeper


Unreleased Demo Tracks
01. State Of The Nation
02. The Box
03. Salt Lake City Sunday
04. Coitus Interruptus
05. Back To Nature

Released Versions
06. State Of The Nation
07. The Box
08. Salt Lake City Sunday
09. Coitus Interruptus

Fans' Top Five
10. Back To Nature
11. Ricky's Hand
12. Ladyshave
13. Collapsing New People
14. Love Parasite

Temple X Tribute
15. Sorogui